Uncategorized

D-Day

So I went to my first slimming world group yesterday – with a friend so we didn’t have to suffer alone! It was definitely eye opening.

When we walked in there wasn’t anyone to greet us so we were not aware of what we were meant to be doing. Upon my friend asking we were pointed to the end of the room where there was another woman filling in forms. When approaching the Area a consultant found us and gave us forms to fill in.

What I didn’t expect was to guess my height, as the form needed it. I have zero idea how tall I am! Granted that I am very tall for a woman, I can’t just put tall into the space.

After completing the forms our consultant (Liz) came over and talked through the booklet with us. There are 4 separate books (which I read as soon as I got home) which seem to be a very big help. From what I can see the thicker book is the one that will be used most often as it contains all your syn and food information – plus the entries for your weekly weigh-ins. We were also nicely informed that a person’s weight is never discussed, the only thing that is discussed is the gain/loss number. I think that’s fab as I would hate knowing how much everyone weighs and them knowing how much I weigh!

After talking about this, the woman previously filling in the form before we got there asked straight away about the chocolate items and started searching to see how bad they were. If you ask me that’s not the right attitude to have! She also left straight after we stopped talking about the books and it was time for group. Something tells me she’s not going to make it very far…

The Group Meeting…

Well. What an experience! So the consultant went 1 by 1 around the room and spoke about how people did this week and their gains and losses. It does seem like a very supportive team, where were a number of times that members provided advise and also shared times when they had similar events. What I did not expect was the amount of clapping involved! I HAAAAAAATE Clapping, its loud and unnecessary (now I seem very English). A lady received multiple awards but I’m not very sure what they were, something about club 10 (no idea) and slimmer of the month. There was also a raffle (I think they happen weekly) in which the consultant put together a bunch of “Speed” foods. I didn’t know about this or I probably would have bought a ticket. Following this, it was the end of the group and time for people to leave…

The Weigh in!

We had to stay around to be weighed, which is one of the most horrific memories I think I will ever have.  My friend was weighed first and was shocked to her weight gain (she has just had a baby!) but gave a realistic target following the weight she just found out. Next it was my turn, I handed over my book so that it could be written in – I looked later and it included all of Liz’s details encase I needed to speak to her at any point (which she emphasized a few times) – took off my shoes and stepped on the scaled.

18 stone exactly. WHEN DID THAT HAPPEN?! I am absolutely mortified that I allowed myself to eat my feelings that much. No wonder I’m having so much difficulty getting pregnant, I have no one but myself to blame.

As soon as I got home I began to construct my shopping list, which I still haven’t completed, full of free foods and a very limited amount of syn foods. This is hard as I have to also feed my family without them moaning about the food! I’m sure I’ll get it done soon and then I will have all the food that I need to be able to be super thin!

Come on R, you can do this.

Week 1 – 18 Stone

Leave a Reply

